Quick and Healthy Breakfast

Embed from Getty Images
The more responsibilities we pile on our plates the less time we have to devote  to making health food choices. After spending a week living off of pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner, I decided I needed to get back to my healthy regime. Though, the thought of spending more than 10 minutes in the kitchen in the morning makes me lose my appetite all together.

Avocado toast and a green smoothie have been my go-to breakfast choices for a tasty, nutritious, quick meal. Avocado toast is simple. Mash the avocado in a bowl with lime or lemon juice, and a sprinkle of salt . Add some fresh basil for a little twist and spread it on whole wheat bread. For the green smoothie I like to have a handful of kale or spinach to mix with a banana, a few pineapple slices, and a splash of soymilk. For added vitamins I add a teaspoon of milled flax seed. Voila! Breakfast is finished.

green food

Regardless of how busy your schedule gets taking tiime to tend to your body should be the first priority on your to-do list.

“Make sure you eat well so that you have enough energy to perform at your best. Also, replenish your body with water after any activity.” – Dan Barber

Dan Barber is an award winning chef and co-owner of Blue Hill restaurant in New York City and is a member of the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition.

So start your day right and you are already one step ahead of the game.

Leave a comment