Strawberry Banana Smoothie

I love smoothies. They are simple, easy to carry around and delicious. Time always seems to escape me and finding different ways to make sure I get enough vitamins and nutrients in my diet is much easier with smoothies. Creating different concoctions from blended fruits and vegetables is always a fun way to take charge of your food.

A strawberry banana smoothie is one of the basics. Starting out with this recipe will help build the foundation to branch out and create more exotic flavored treats. Rather simple, this recipe calls for a cup of strawberries, two bananas, a splash of milk (I like to use soy milk or almond milk) or yoghurt, and ice. Feel free to add or take away ingredients to cater to your palette. Some people like to add sugar or honey but I prefer to use ripe fruits and let the natural sugars in the fruits sweeten my smoothie. For added benefits I add a teaspoon or two of Milled Flax Seed which is a good source of fiber and Omega 3-oils.

Leave a comment